top of page

Amazing, Simple, Organic DIY Trail Mix for Toddlers (and Mommies!)

Ideally, you would be able to grow everything yourself. That way you know for sure that the food you are feeding your little one is completely natural and safe. Unfortunately, life is a bit more complicated. We were certain we were going to be growing our own crops by the time Jade started on solid foods. The greenhouse is still packed in the box out back!

If this sounds like you, then I am sure you can appreciate the value of sourcing wholesome, quality foods for your family!

The following is a super-easy recipe for delicious, nutritious, completely healthy "trail mix" that you and your toddler can both snack on. I have not found anything like this in stores, so as far as I know, you will have to put it together yourself. All the ingredients are organic, so no worries!

You can get the ingredients anywhere (or grow your own), however, for convenience and quality-assurance, I am including a link for each one where you can buy some online. My measuring is 1 cup of each ingredient, but you can go with whatever amount, I just like the same amount of each for best results...Customize this to your own liking!

Please note: This recipe is intended for children of at least 1 year old and who are already used to eating solid foods. Its best if their teeth are already coming in.

(Or you can select your child's favorite flavor- they have apple, broccoli, yam, and more...)

Dump all these ingredients into a gallon-sized Ziploc bag and shake to mix. I like to then dole out a small amount in a little bowl with a lid that Jade can control herself. (Sure, she will occasionally leave a mess on the floor, but this is just a part of having kids, right?)

Not only are the ingredients organic, but the nuts are raw and salt-free as well. Plus, I like that almost everything is small enough to be swallowed whole (except for the puffs, which disintegrate quickly anyway). Unlike most trail mix that you find in stores, which often contain larger nuts like almonds, peanuts, and cashews, all of which could potentially choke a child if swallowed whole. Not to mention they are usually roasted...

I mean, don't get me wrong - I am hoping she is chewing things, and she has enough teeth now, so she should be. But sometimes things get through her system looking the same as when they went in!

If you want to dehydrate your own fruit, then you can purchase a dehydrator...this is great for DIY-ers and people who grow their own produce. I would recommend a low heat setting while dehydrating.

While the drying process does leach out some of the nutrients, its not as bad as cooked foods. So the dried fruit is still relatively nutrient rich. Freeze-dried and sun dried fruit retains even more than through regular dehydration methods since no artificial heat is applied. The ingredients selected here are all organic, and as close to raw as possible to maximize nutritional value, while avoiding chemicals, preservatives, and other additives, and minimizing salt and sugar intake. (Please note, the cranberries have added organic cane sugar to make them more palatable. If this is a concern, just remove this ingredient when making your own.)

I got myself a membership to ThriveMarket.com because of their extensive selection of organic and paleo-diet friendly products. They also have quality vegan and gluten free items and everything on their site is a good price as well! It makes my life so much easier to source all of these quality foods from one place- and I don't even have to leave the house!

I don't know about you but I have eaten more pureed veggies and sat through more episodes of Dinosaur Train than I'd like to admit...I will, inevitably, chow down on this trail mix on occasion. It's nice to know that I am providing something wholesome, healthy and organic to my child during her vulnerable years. It's even better knowing this stuff is absolutely delicious and guilt-free... Just because I made it for my toddler, it doesn't mean I can't share it with her!


Breastfeeding Help offers you a complete and effective technique that will teach you to deeply latch your baby and breastfeed without pain within minutes for a contented baby and an end to sore nipples.

Have you ever dreamed of being able to eat delicious food all day long that tastes DIVINE and satisfies ALL of your most CARNAL cravings…

…WITHOUT making you pack on the pounds??

75 Fabulous Baby Shower Games –
Guests LOVE Them and You Can Download and Print Them in as Little as 5 Minutes.

Would You Have Thought Uncooked Snacks And
Desserts Made From Raw Healthy Ingredients
Could Look And Taste Fantastic? Well, They Can!

Discover How To Feel Your Best While Treating Yourself To Cookies, Cakes And Other Sweets With These Simple To Make, Nutrient-rich Dessert Recipes

Your baby is crying and you don't know why!  If only he could tell you what was wrong...

Let me show you how they can!

Discover a whole-body balancing system for long-term weight loss results.

RSS Feed

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You're subscribed.

bottom of page